Men’s Hockey League Championships SF – 28 April 2018


Scorers: Arjan Drayton Chana 32-F, Nick Parkes 38-F
Squad: Harry Gibson (GK); Luke Taylor, Luke Noblett, Jonny Gall, Chris Grassick (Capt.), Arjan Drayton Chana, Zach Wallace, Alan Forsyth, Brendan Creed, David Goodfield, James Gall.

Subs: Rob Farrington (6 mins), Sam Spencer(7), Nick Parkes (7),Lewis Prosser (7), Scott Evans (38)

Subs not used: Gareth Furlong, Taylor Seager-Green (GK)

UmpiresDave Dowdall and Paul Walker

Surbiton Men reached Sunday’s MHL Championships Final with a 2-1 win over Beeston on Saturday afternoon at Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre.

After a goalless and tactical first half which saw a superb save by Beeston’s Simon Hujwan from Surbiton’s David Goodfield and Harry Gibson save from Beeston’s Sam Ward, the game burst to life early in the third quarter.

Arjan Drayton Chana finished from short range in the 32nd minute and then six minutes later, a long ball out of defence found Alan Forsyth, whose shot from the left of the circle was deflected home at the right post by Nick Parkes.

Surbiton thought that they had scored a third goal in the 43rd minute but Forsyth’s finish after spinning around was chalked off.

Beeston threatened with a series of penalty corners, Mark Gleghorne pulling a goal back in the 49th minute from the fourth.

Gibson made a superb double save from Beeston’s fifth penalty corner. Trailing 2-1, Beeston elected to field a kicking back for the last two minutes but initial pressure was eased by Surbiton’s defenders and they managed to run out the clock.

Hampstead and Westminster beat Wimbledon 2-1 in the first semi-final, Matt Guise-Brown and Sam French putting Hampstead 2-0 ahead before Peter Friend pulled a goal back for Wimbledon.

Wimbledon will now take the second ranked English place in next season’s Euro Hockey League, the winners of the Sunday’s final taking over as England’s top ranked team.