Great Britain men have won the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup final in Ipoh, Malaysia for the first time since 1994 when they beat Australia 4-3 in Saturday’s final.

In doing so they gained revenge for their 2-1 defeat to the Kookaburras on Wednesday and denied Australia a tenth title.

Great Britain Celebrate Winning the 2017 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

Team GB took the lead in the eighth minute, Surbiton’s Alan Forsyth scoring from open play.

The great start continued three minutes later, when Surbiton’s David Goodfield doubled the lead with a penalty corner conversion.

Team GB held the 2-0 lead until the 28th minute when Eddie Ockenden reduced the deficit from open play.

In an exciting start to the third quarter, Beeston’s Ollie Willars extended Team GB’s lead to 3-1 in the 33rd minute, only for the Kookaburras’ Joshua Pollard to quickly respond a minute later to make the score 3-2, both goals again coming from open play

Two minutes before the end of the third quarter, Goodfield struck again, this time from open play to give Team GB a 4-2 lead, but Australia responded within three minutes of the start of the final quarter, Dylan Wotherspoon giving the Kookaburras hope by reducing Team GB’s lead to 4-3.

Team GB kept their heads and won the final, England having last won the trophy back in 1994.

India thrashed New Zealand 4-0 to take home the bronze with hosts, Malaysia beating Japan 3-1 to finish fifth.

The official tournament website can be found here

A more detailed match report can be found at the England Hockey website here

The match highlights can be seen on BT Sport ESPN on Saturday night at 7 pm and is due to be repeated in the next few days. More information here