Den Bosch won the EuroHockey Club Cup final, beating UHC Hamburg by exactly the same score as in the 2017 final, 2-1 at Sugden Road on Sunday afternoon.

The final was closely fought and the deadlock was only broken at the end of the third quarter, Fréderique Matla smashing the ball into the net. Hamburg responded brilliantly, Katharina Frank dispatching the ball into the far right corner from the left of the circle in the 51st minute.

With the final heading for a shootout with two minutes remaining, Den Bosch began an attack from inside their own half which ended with Matla crossing from the right to Pleunke van der Plas to finish to the delight of the Dutch supporters.

The third place playoff ended in controversy after AH&BC Amsterdam, trailing 2-1 had a goal disallowed with 16 seconds remaining, Club Campo De Madrid hanging on for the win. Amsterdam had a goal disallowed in the second minute after Kitty van Male scored at the left post from a penalty corner. Three minutes later, Rebecca Grote put Madrid ahead with a penalty corner drag-flick.

Amsterdam equalised in the 17th minute, Kelly Jonker netting from an acute angle from the right of the circle, but two minutes before half time, Beatriz Perez Lagunas scored what proved to be the winning goal.

Mannheimer dominated the fifth place playoff, winning 7-0 against fellow debutants Victorya Smolevichi of Belarus. Nike Lorenz’s drag-flick rebounded off the backboard in the sixth minute, followed by two goals in the 14th minute. Camille Nobis and Lydia Haase putting the German club in control. Greta Lyer added a fourth goal after Tatsiana Charei was caught out of position in the 23rd minute and scored her second goal of the game three minutes later, Mannheimer leading 5-0 at the break.

Mannheimer captain, Sophia Willig put away a rebound in the 43rd minute and Victorya were caught out again a minute later when Alicia Magaz Medrano vollied to complete a convincing victory.

Final positions:

1 – Den Bosch
2 – UHC Hamburg
3 – Club Campo De Madrid
4 – AH&BC Amsterdam
5 – Mannheimer HC
6 – Victorya Smolevichi
7 – Surbiton
8 – UCD